Log in


  • August 01, 2020 11:18 AM | Russel (Trey) Thompson (Administrator)

    Board elections for 2020-21 are complete. Thank you to all who voted. By unanimous consent, the members have approved the proposed slate. Thanks to all who participated and to those volunteering to continue our educational efforts.

    President:  Carlos Velez, MD
    Past President:  Kay Schanzer, PhD
    President Elect:  Julie Waters, EdD
    Treasurer:  Paul Ingmundson, PhD
    Secretary:  Robert Kalter, MD
    Education Committee Chair:  Julie Waters, EdD
    Membership Committee Chair:  Tony Cox, Phd, LCSW
    Communication Committee Chair:  Trey Thompson, PhD
    Division Representative:  Wayne Ehrisman, PhD
    Student Representative:  Jim Bossman, MD; Jacqueline Herrera, PsyD 
    Members-at-large: Tony Cox, Phd, LCSW; Ursula Sanderson, PsyD

  • March 18, 2020 8:11 AM | Russel (Trey) Thompson (Administrator)

    The Society for Psychoanalysis and Psychoanalytic Psychology/APA Division 39 Spring Meeting will be early this year - Save the date for March 18-21 in NYC. The theme is Reckoning/Foresight. The deadline for proposals, including panels and roundtables is September 6.  Registration is available now:

  • July 12, 2019 5:58 PM | Russel (Trey) Thompson (Administrator)

    2019-2020 Elections are complete. Please welcome our newest board members.

    • President Kay Schanzer, PhD, LPC, CCP
    • President Elect Carlos Velez, M.D.
    • Past President Ashley Powell, PhD
    • Treasurer Paul Ingmundson, PhD 
    • Secretary Robert Kalter, MD 
    • Membership Committee Chair proposed David Reed, PhD
    • Communications Committee Chair Russel (Trey) Thompson, PhD
    • Division 39 Representative Wayne Ehrisman, PhD

    Student Representatives

    • Antoine Saldubehere, PhD
    • Jim Bossman, MD

    Members at Large

    • Julie Waters, EdD
    • Tony Cox, MA, LCSW
    • Ursula Sanderson, PsyD
  • May 10, 2019 12:18 PM | Anonymous

    Bexar County Psychological Association Spring 2019 Diversity Workshop

    Clinical and Ethical Foundations of Psychological Practice with Transgender Adolescents and Adults

    Presented by Richard H. Reams, Ph.D. Associate Director of Counseling Services Trinity University

    Friday, May 17, 2019 1pm-4pm

    Location: St. Andrew Presbyterian Church 8231 Callaghan Rd San Antonio, TX 78230

    This basic- and intermediate-level session is rooted in APA's Guidelines for Psychological Practice with Transgender and Gender Nonconforming [TGNC] Clients.

    The session is designed to:

    • Enhance clinician understanding of gender-diverse persons,

    • Expand the range of psychological practice that clinicians can competently and confidently offer to gender-diverse clients,

    • Equip clinicians to be an educator and advocate with institutions and with the loved ones of gender-diverse people.

    3 hours Professional Development credits (includes 3 diversity hrs) (continuing education credits provided for Psychologists, Social Workers, LPCs, and LMFT’s) Workshop Fees (Coffee, Tea and Snacks provided).

    Early Bird Registration: $55 BCPA Members / $70 Non-Members / $20 Student Affiliates After May 3: $75 Members / $90 Non-Members / $40 Student Affiliates Space is limited! Please register at…

  • April 27, 2019 8:13 PM | Anonymous

    The Teen Brain

    Thursday, 9 May, 2019 6:30 pm

    Pearl Stable

    Just what IS going on in the teen brain? Join Abigail Baird, PhD (Vassar) as she shares how the neurological growth spurt of adolescence dictates how we learn to consolidate, generalize and then (at light speed) make use of our experiences to navigate our every day lives AND avoid/survive life threatening situations.

    Click here for more details

  • October 27, 2018 11:04 AM | Anonymous

    Please join San Antonio Society for Psychoanalytic Studies member 

    Ricardo Ainslie, PhD, for a free screening of his documentary

    The Mark of War


    October 30th, 2018 at 7:00 PM

    Santikos Bijou

    4522 Fredericksburg Road

    San Antonio, TX, 78201

    The Mark of War is an intimate portrait of seven men who served in the Vietnam War drawn by a psychoanalyst-filmmaker keen on entering their worlds. In this film, Dr. Ainslie explores their lives before going off to war, their experiences fighting in Vietnam, and their lives since their return. 

    Visit the Mark of War Website

  • October 05, 2018 9:04 AM | Anonymous

    SASPS Reading Group Dates

    Our Reading group will meet from 7:30 PM-9:00 PM on the following Wednesdays: 

    September 12

    October 10

    November 14

    December- Winter Social Gathering

    January 9

    February 13

    March 13

    April 10

    May 8

    June 12

    July 10 - Summer Social Gathering and Board/Committee Voting

  • August 30, 2018 11:22 AM | Anonymous

    Psychoanalysis, Division 39 of the APA, would like to invite you again to submit proposals to the 2019 Spring Meeting in Philadelphia! Proposal submissions are due by September 7th (Poster session proposals are due November 9th. Our theme for the conference is "Resonant Voices: Sameness, Difference, and Mutuality in the Consulting Room, Clinic, and Community," with keynote plenary speakers Jessica Benjamin, Ph.D., Francisco González, M.D., Kathleen Pogue White, Ph.D., and keynote speaker Norka Malberg, Psy.D. 

    For more information about our theme, proposal options and the submission process, please visit our website at:

    Please Note: when submitting a proposal through our submissions portal, you can save a draft of your proposal! Simply click "submit" to store your progress for when you're ready to revisit the portal to complete your submission.  Proposals can be edited once submitted, even when completed, up until our deadline.  Also, please read the instructions on the submission form carefully, including how to complete the author/presenter information matrix, which must not have any empty fields in order for the submission to be considered complete.

    For more information regarding the poster presentations please contact:

    Joseph Schaller, Psy.D.

    Matthew Whitehead, Psy.D.

    Conference Co-Chairs

    Division 39 Spring Meeting

    Philadelphia 2019

    For information on the Local Chapter of Division 39, Please contact Dr. Wayne Ehrisman. 

  • July 29, 2018 7:35 PM | Anonymous

    An election was held July 11, 2018 for new officers and Executive Committee Members. There were 14 ballots submitted.  The following candidates were elected:

    Executive Committee Members


    Ashley Powell- President

    Kay Schanzer  - President Elect

    Trey Thompson – Past President

    Bob Kalter - Secretary

    Paul Ingmundson - Treasurer

    Kim Fox - Communications Chair

    Wayne Ehrisman – Division 39 Representative, APA




    Josh Essery

    Jacob Pickard

    Tom Stone

    Carlos Velez

    Julie Waters


    Student Representatives

    Mary Baldwin

    Karla Caballero

    Jeffrey Wentz


    These elected officers and Executive Committee Members will serve in their roles until June 30, 2019.

  • June 18, 2018 7:14 AM | Russel (Trey) Thompson (Administrator)

    We will hold a social and ballot collection at Tribecca (4331 McCullough Ave, Olmos Park 78212) on July 11 from 8pm to 10pm. Ballots must be presented in person in order to allow us to preserve the integrity of the election and confidentiality of votes.

    Click here to download a printable ballot

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software